How to Make a Travel Blanket – by PinkWhen

I have always wanted to do one of these, and just never seemed to have the time.  Now that I have been crafting and making things, I decided it was time to go ahead and make that travel blanket for the kiddo!

You know how when you are on a plane and the kiddos are cold, or want a snack, or an iPod? Lol.  Or when you are traveling to the beach, and everyone in the back is COLD! For our little gang, we can’t go on a beach vacation and drive 8 hours with a ton of big blankets and pillows.  After you pack for six people, 2 adults, 3 children, and a baby, room runs out FAST!  So I decided it was PERFECT to make a little travel blanket, and add a pocket for a toy or game or book as well! Here is how I did it…

The first thing I did was pick out and measure my material.  This blanket is not going to be huge, just enough to cover them up and keep them cozy on the drive.  It measure out at approximately 26 x 36.  I wanted something cool and comfy for the oldest in the bunch, and she loves green and purple, so I chose a nice green chevron print and a comfy and soft chenille backing.

I wanted to personalize this for her, so I set up the embroidery machine after I cut my fabric.  I measured about where I wanted to have her name, and where I would want the pocket on the travel blanket.

How to Make a Travel Blanket

How to Make a Travel Blanket

The next thing I did was hoop up the fabric and get started on her personalization.  (I wasn’t sure about the green and purple, but I just went with it!)

How to Make a Travel Blanket

How to Make a Travel Blanket

After I had her name finished, I decided on a purple fabric I had left over from some of my LSU fabrics I have been using.  I cut the pocket, ironed down all of the ends, and began to sew those together.

How to Make a Travel Blanket

How to Make a Travel Blanket

How to Make a Travel Blanket

How to Make a Travel Blanket

After I had that complete, I placed the pocket where I wanted to have it on the travel blanket and went ahead and stitched that to the blanket as well.

How to Make a Travel Blanket

How to Make a Travel Blanket

Once that was complete, I grabbed the chevron fabric and the chenille and placed them right sides together.

How to Make a Travel Blanket

How to Make a Travel Blanket

After this was done, I made sure to pin these together and leave a nice little 5 inch opening at one end so I could turn right side out when I was finished with the first stitch. Once the first was done, I flipped the fabric to right sides facing out, and pinned the 5 inch hole together where I turned the fabric. I placed a top stitch around the travel blanket for extra durability.

Here it is!!  All ready to go to the beach in a few weeks….now to make the other three….

How to Make a Travel Blanket

How to Make a Travel Blanket

Jen

About pinkwhen

Enjoying the world of blogging and crafting.
This entry was posted in sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Make a Travel Blanket – by PinkWhen

  1. Easy-2-pick says:

    You will enjoy to make that travel blanket for the kiddo!. It will be loved by your kids

Leave a Reply

