Minnie Mouse Floppy ear applique!

I love doing embroidery and applique.  This weekend I was asked by someone to make a floppy ear Minnie Mouse.  I wasn’t quite sure I was going to be able to do it, but I thought about it a bit, and this is what I came up with.   This could be for a Mickey or a Minnie lover, and so cute with a name embroidered underneath!

This design was super quick and fun to do!  I have the steps and some pictures listed below. ( I must admit, I started having so much fun, I kept forgetting to grab the camera! But follow instructions and you will get the same results. )

1.  This first thing I did was hoop my fabric with medium cut away stabilizer on the back.  Once this was hooped, I took another piece of fabric and attached some light bonding to it.  I placed this on top of the hooped fabric, with the bonding facing up towards me.

2.  The second thing I did was stitch out the ears.  This took a quick minute to do.

3.  After I stitched out the ears, I cut them out.  When cutting them out, I made sure not to cut too close to the stitching. Once I cut around the ears, I then cut off a small end on each ear, and then was able to pull the ear inside out.  This now should show you the right sides of the fabric.

4.  After I did that, I made the circle on my machine for the face.  Once the face was stitched, I paused the machine and taped the ears onto the face, so I could get them exactly where I wanted them, and they would stay.  I then placed another stitch around the ears so that I had the ears attached to the face.

5.  I then placed my face fabric on top of the face outline, and did another facial stitch.  Once that was complete, I cut around the fabric, and careful around the ears so I wouldn’t amputate an ear. 🙂

6.  After the fabric was cut away, I let the machine go and finish the final stitches.

All done!

This was so easy and super cute.  This would be super cute on a little yellow, pink, or white puffy sleeved shirt for girls, and with their name embroidered underneath!  What a fun little shirt for that special Disney vacation, or for the Disney lover in us all!

Jen

About pinkwhen

Enjoying the world of blogging and crafting.
This entry was posted in 3D applique, applique, children's applique, embellished shirt, fabric design, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

